In the heart of London, is Benjamin Franklin House, the world’s only remaining Franklin home.
The Historical Experience presents the excitement and uncertainty of Franklin’s London years using rooms where so much took place as staging for a drama that seamlessly integrates live performance, cutting edge lighting, sound and visual projection.
The Student Science Centre focuses on Franklin’s London science – from lightning rods to hydrodynamics, allowing school children to satifsy their historical and scientific curiosity, free of charge. Outreach, including Ben’s Travelling Suitcase, brings our educational activities into schools and the community.
The top floor Robert H. Smith Scholarship Centre is a focal point in Europe for Franklin and the myriad subjects with which he is associated, featuring a full set of the Papers of Benjamin Franklin, as catalogued by Yale University, as well as an active internship programme, and nearly 40 public events per year.
Renowned Victorian writer Thomas Carlyle lived here from 1851 to 1881 with his wife Jane, who was not only a prolific letter writer herself, but also encouraged her illustrious, rather shy husband.
Built in 1708, this is a beatiful house to wander around, with the added attraction of discovering the lives of two 19th-century literary celebrities.
The Cuming museum is based on the worldwide collection of the Cuming family and is also the museum of Southwark’s history. Collections include archaeology, ethnography, art, local history, social history and natural history.
As well as the Cumings’ worldwide collection, the museum has many local history objects which reflect Southwark’s rich and diverse history and its unfolding story.
The museum opened new public spaces on the ground floor of the former Walworth Town Hall in 2006. The changing exhibition space and activity room housed regular events and exhibitions plus two permanent displays showed key items from the collections.
Its creator was Dennis Severs, an artist who used his visitors’ imaginations as his canvas and who lived in the house in much the same way as its original occupants might have done in the early 18th Century.
The game is that you interrupt a family of Huguenot silk weavers named Jervis who, though they can still sometimes be heard, seem always to be just out of sight. As you journey off into a silent search through the ten rooms, each lit by fire and candlelight, you receive a number of stimulations to your senses.
It’s fun and now after almost thirty five years the experience ranks as one of the rarest in the world.
Dr Johnson’s House is a small historic town house in the City of London that preserve the memory of Samuel Johnson, one of the greatest literary figures of the 18th-century, most famously compiling A Dictionary of the English Language.
They are an independent, fully accredited museum and a registered charity (no. 1122396). The house has two members of staff and a dedicated team of volunteers who together run a vibrant programme of education, exhibitions and events.
This beautiful 17th-century merchant’s house is a hidden gem in London, a place of unique charm and ambience.
Lady Binning bought the house in 1936 and filled it with her highly decorative collections of porcelain, Georgian furniture and 17th-century needlework.
The sound of early keyboard instruments and the colours of early 20th-century drawings and paintings add to a captivating experience.
The Freud Museum, at 20 Maresfield Gardens in Hampstead, was the home of Sigmund Freud and his family when they escaped Austria following the Nazi annexation in 1938. It remained the family home until Anna Freud, the youngest daughter, died in 1982. The centrepiece of the museum is Freud’s study, preserved just as it was during his lifetime.
The Museum engages actively with Sigmund and Anna’s psychoanalytic legacy in contemporary ideas, art, and culture, while caring for the house and collections.
Since it opened in June 1992, the Geffrye’s walled herb garden has matured into an oasis of beauty and botanical interest in the East End, an area with a long tradition of gardening and once noted for its horticultural significance. Hoxton, just across Kingsland Road in the parish of Shoreditch, was home to a group of extremely influential nurseries in the 17th and 18th centuries.
The garden, which was made from a derelict site adjacent to the museum, contains over 170 different herbs, and also includes a variety of plants traditionally associated with herb gardens such as roses, honeysuckles and lilies. The herb garden’s 12 beds each contain an informal grouping of herbs which share a common use. There are beds for cosmetic, medicinal, culinary, household, aromatic and dye plants. The design is based on a traditional plan of beds intersected by geometric paths, with a fountain in the centre. Three arbours provide secluded seating beneath climbing plants and roses.
Enjoy delicious food and drink in the relaxing setting of their contemporary cafe.
Choose from a wide range of freshly prepared sandwiches, wraps, and bagels, as well as soup, specials, and a vegetarian dish of the day. They also have a tasty range of cakes and sweet treats.
Allthough this small museum only takes up two floors of this beautiful house, it is worth a visit to see William Morri’s original printing press and his watercolour sketches for wallpaper and other interior designs. There is a pretty garden to the rear of the house but the main reason for visiting is the opportunity to learn about the life of one of Britain’s most industrious Arts and Crafts pioneers.